Deprecated: Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; Plugin_googleMaps has a deprecated constructor in /var/www/virtual/ on line 308 River Basins and Agricultural Development

There are eleven River Basin Development Authorities, RBDAs. They were all established in 1976 by the country's then military Government to exploit Nigeria’s water resources and optimise Nigeria’s agricultural resources for food self sufficiency. The RBDAs include the :

  • Sokoto-Rima Basin, Sokoto
  • Hadejia-Jema’are Basin, Kano
  • Lake Chad Basin, Maiduguri
  • Upper Benue Basin, Yola
  • Lower Benue Basin, Makurdi 
  • Cross River Basin, Calabar
  • Anambra-Imo Basin, Owerri
  • Niger Basin, Ilorin
  • Niger Delta Basin, Port Harcourt
  • Benin-Owena Basin, Benin City 
  • Oshun-Ogun Basin, Abeokuta

RBDA Objectives

  • provision of water for irrigation and domestic water supply
  • improvement of navigation
  • construction of dams for hydro-electric power generation
  • tourism recreation
  • develop and strengthen capacities in fishery 
  • stimulate the growth of plantation farming
  • facilitate development of agro-allied industrial complexes
  • develop infrastructure and encourage social development projects in rural areas  

Template Settings


For each color, the params below will give default values
Tomato Green Blue Cyan Dark_Red Dark_Blue


Background Color
Text Color


Background Color


Select menu
Google Font
Body Font-size
Body Font-family